The Society for the Anthropology of North America announces the St. Clair Drake Student Travel Grant for travel to the 2016 AAA conference, titled “Evidence, Accident, Discovery,” held from November 16th to the 20th in Minneapolis, Minnesota. DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS IS SEPT 30, 2016.

The committee will distribute up to four grants of $500 each.

To apply, submit your paper abstract, university affiliation, and contact information in the body of an email to by September 30, 2016. Please indicate whether you are in an M.A. or Ph.D. program. No additional materials are needed.

Applicants must be SANA members. The membership fee is only $10 for students – please see for instructions on how to join.

  • The student travel grant is awarded on a competitive basis and reviewed by a committee comprised of members from the SANA board. This travel grant is intended for currently enrolled graduate students without a PhD. Only students who are presenting papers at the conference will be considered for the grant.
  • A total of 4 awards will be made: 2 awards will be given to Ph.D. students; 2 awards will be given to M.A. students.
  • Papers should relate to the study of North America and – in keeping with the work of the grant’s namesake, St. Clair Drake – preferably consider the politics of everyday life in North America such as those pertaining to race, ethnicity, class, gender, and/or sexuality. Priority will be given to those that address Mexico, the United States, and Canada.
  • Preference will go to those students who have previously applied for the SANA travel grant and have not yet received one.
  • The total dollar amount allocated to travel grants is limited; therefore, the number and dollar amount of grants awarded depends on the number of applicants and their travel needs.
  • Travel grants will not be awarded to any individual two years in a row.
  • SANA is an intentionally inclusive community of anthropologists and encourages every student to apply for the St. Clair Drake grant regardless of society’s labels or anthropology’s disciplinary boundaries. However, applicants must be SANA members presenting at the 2016 AAA meeting.

 Delmos Jones and Jagna Sharff Memorial Prize for the Critical Study of North America

Duke University Press 2013
Duke University Press 2013

The Delmos Jones and Jagna Sharff Memorial Prize for the Critical Study of North America was awarded to Lynn Stephen & Collaborators, for the book We are the Face of Oaxaca: Testimony and Social Movements (Duke 2013)

Two books were awarded honorable mentions:

Audra Simpson, for the book Mohawk Interruptus: Political Life Across the Borders of Settler States (Duke 2014)

Kenneth MacLeish, for the book Making War at Fort Hood: Life and Uncertaintly in a Military Community (Princeton 2013)