SANA Book Prize



The Delmos Jones and Jagna Sharf Memorial Prize for the Critical Study of North America is awarded every two years for a single or multiple authored book (not edited collections).  Nominated books need to be published in 2015 and 2016.  Books should be based on research about North America broadly conceived (The Arctic, Canada, the United States, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean). They should:

  • deal with an important social issue within the discipline of anthropology
  • have broader implications for social change or justice;  and
  • be accessible beyond the discipline of anthropology.

Authors, publishers, or other scholars may nominate a book. Nominations must include a letter of nomination specifying how the book(s) meets the criteria, a C.V. or bio-bibliography of the author, and three copies of the book. The nomination letter and C.V. may be sent by E-mail or postal service to each of the three following committee members.  Ordinarily, publishers sent hard copies of the book to each of the committee members, but the author may do so as well. Both nomination material and books must be received by MARCH 15, 2017.

Contact information for Selection Committee:

  • Louise  Lamphere, , Department of Anthropology, MSC01 1040, 1 University of New Mexico, Albuquerque. New Mexico 87131-0001
  • Jeff Maskovsky,,  Ph.D. Program in Anthropology, The CUNY Graduate Center, Rm 6402-10, 365 Fifth Avenue, New York, New York 10016-4309
  • Lynn Stephen,, 316 Condon Hall, Department of
    Anthropology, University of Oregon, Eugene OR 97403

The Prize will be announced at the AAA Meetings to be held in November 29-December 3rd, 2017 in Washington DC.

We are the Face of Oaxaca Wins 2013-2014 Prize

The Delmos Jones and Jagna Sharff Memorial Prize for the Critical Study of North America was awarded to Lynn Stephen & Collaborators, for the book We are the Face of Oaxaca: Testimony and Social Movements (Duke 2013) at the American Anthropological Association Annual Meeting in Denver on November 21, 2015

Duke University Press 2013
Duke University Press 2013

Two books were awarded honorable mentions:

Audra Simpson, for the book Mohawk Interruptus: Political Life Across the Borders of Settler States (Duke 2014)

Kenneth MacLeish, for the book Making War at Fort Hood: Life and Uncertaintly in a Military Community (Princeton 2013)

2011-2012 Prize Winner: Tobacco Capitalism

Tobacco Capitalism: Growers, Migrant Workers, and the Changing Face of a Global Industry

Tobacco CapitalismPeter Benson expertly handles grounding his topic in a broader historical and political economic context, telling a rich story while avoiding – and expressly dismantling – the oversimplified narratives that permeate the themes he engages. He succeeds in his aim to situate a nuanced, sensitive account of the workers’ experiences within a critical analysis of broader structural forces, illuminating a range of political projects that shape the contemporary historical moment.

Read more about the book on Princeton University Press’ web pages.

2011-2012 Honorable Mention: Hound Pound Narrative

Hound Pound Narrative: Sexual Offender Habilitation and the Anthropology of Therapeutic Intervention

Hound Pound NarrativeTaking seriously and, without romanticization, James Waldramattempts to understand the situations of a nearly universally reviled group – sexual offenders – and does it well.  He dodges the pitfalls of conventional tropes around these topics, problematizing and disrupting a range of assumptions along the way while examining the production and roots of the numerous discourses discussed.  The rich ethnographic detail makes this a compelling story.

Read more about the book on University of California Press Press’ web pages.